KVS

Carme Portaceli

Carme Portaceli studied for an MA in Art History at the University of Barcelona before becoming Professor of Directing and Acting at Barcelona’s Theatre Institute (2001-2006).

Carme Portaceli studied for an MA in Art History at the University of Barcelona before becoming Professor of Directing and Acting at Barcelona’s Theatre Institute (2001-2006).

In 2005 she became Artistic Director of Factoria Escènica Internacional. From 2016 to 2019 she was Aristic Director of Teatro Español in Madrid. When she took over, attendance stood at 28%, and five months later it had risen to around 78%, attracting a young and diverse public and restoring the theatre as a meeting-place for the city. She has also been Vice President of the Performing Call Arts Academy since 2014.

Portaceli has directed over 70 productions in Spain and abroad, including Genova 01 (2004), What Happened When Nora Left Her Husband (2008), They Are Only Women (2015), Jane Eyre (2017), Frankenstein (2018) and Mrs Dalloway (2019). Her works have garnered praise and won several prizes, including MAX, ADE and BUTACA awards voor Best Direction.

'I have spent my whole working life trying to give women more visibility, on and off stage. That’s also what I do with the characters I bring to life.'

PHOTOS (high-res)   
(high-res images which you can use free of charge with attribution)

Performances by and with Carme Portaceli

Bovary op Filmfestival Oostende én zes nominaties MIFF Awards

Prachtig nieuws uit Milaan voor Carme Portaceli, Michael De Cock en Jaco Van Dormael: ze blijken voor hun teletheaterstuk Bovary niet één of twee, maar zes (!) nominaties te hebben ontvangen voor de M…

La cultura es segura: opinion Michael De Cock and Carme Portaceli 

Michael De Cock and Carme Portaceli put pen to paper for this joint opinion piece, which was published in De Standaard and Le Soir. They hope theatre companies all over Europe will be able to get back…

A day in the life of Mrs Dalloway

For the production Mrs Dalloway, Michael De Cock collaborates with Carme Portaceli of Teatro Español. Why Mrs Dalloway? And why Teatro Español? In this interview, De Cock reveals all about this partic…

Carme Portaceli

Carme Portaceli a obtenu sa maîtrise en Histoire de l’Art à l’Université de Barcelone avant de travailler en tant que professeure de mise en scène et d’art dramatique à l’Institut del Teatre de Barcelone de 2001 à 2016.

Directrice artistique de la Factoria Escènica Internacional (FEI - Barcelone) de 2005 à 2016, elle est également la vice-présidente de l’académie des arts de la scène à Madrid depuis 2014. De 2016 à 2019, elle occupe la fonction de directrice artistique du Teatro Español à Madrid. Lorsqu’elle y est nommée, le taux d’occupation moyen de la salle s’élève à peine à 28 %. Cinq mois plus tard, il atteint plus de 78 %. Elle parvient à attirer un public jeune et varié et à rendre au théâtre sa fonction de lieu où se tissent des liens.

Avec Mrs Dalloway, Portaceli n’en est pas à un coup d’essai en matière de mise en scène ; elle a monté plus de 70 spectacles en Espagne et à l’étranger. Parmi ses productions qui ont rencontré le plus de succès, on peut citer Genova 01 (2004), What happened after Nora left her husband (2008), They are only women (2015), Jane Eyre (2017), Frankenstein (2018), Mrs Dalloway (2019), etc.

Chaque mise en scène lui a valu des éloges et plusieurs prix, tels que le MAX, l’ADE et le BUTACA pour la meilleure mise en scène.

« Tout au long de ma carrière, j’ai travaillé à donner plus de visibilité aux femmes, à la scène comme à la ville. Et j’étends ce travail aux personnages auxquels je souhaite donner corps. »

Cookies
Le KVS utilise des cookies. Parce que nous voulons garantir votre confidentialité et améliorer la convivialité de votre visite sur notre site web. Nous pensons qu'il est important que vous sachiez comment et pourquoi nous l'utilisons.
Lire notre politique de confidentialité