The light that never goes out

Fri 18.09.2020 - Sat 19.09.2020

You enter the theatre with a handful of people and take place on a seat in the empty space. Only the ghost light is there to guide you. From the darkness, an artist seeks out that light to greet you again, move you, perhaps touch you – metaphorically. After 15 minutes, the encounter – the performance – is over, and you step out again. The ghost light stays on, patiently waiting for the next visitor.

Even though the theatre has been empty for a long time, one lamp – as dictated by the iron law of tradition – has remained lit. The ghost light, or ‘servante’ as we call it in Belgium, is never seen by the audience. But it stays lit, lighting up the empty stage during long nights. A full KVS BOL seats 500 viewers. We want to welcome that same number of visitors, spread over 24 hours and therefore with plenty of distance. 

A brilliant cast of well-established KVS faces and lesser-known performers will seek out the ghost light during day and night: Lisette Ma Neza, Alesandra Seutin, Yassin Mrabtifi, Pitcho Womba Konga, Anne-Laure Vandeputte, Marie-Aurore d’Awans, Les Mybalés, Brandon Likiyo, Leonie Buysse, Rashif El Kaoui, Leentje Vandenbussche, Jhaya Caupenne, Junior Akwety, Sachli Gholamalizad, Chris Lomme, Seppe Baeyens, Awoulath Alougbin, Jessica Fanhan, Gioia Kayaga (aka Joy), Sybille Van Bellinghen, Lieselot Siddiki and Kris Dane.

A safe, intimate date with KVS faces and other theatre talents


Each session of The Light That Never Goes Out lasts 15 minutes. One artist takes you through the piece. The artists rotate – if you’d like to see more than one artist, you can book more than one session (max. 3 at a time, after which the cycle begins again).
The sessions between 2pm and 5pm on 19th September are aimed specifically at children (6+) and families.


Steven De bruyn

Jhaya Caupenne

Alesandra Seutin

Lisette Ma Neza

Chris Lomme

Seppe Baeyens

Sybille Van Bellinghen

Awoulath Alougbin

Dancer & choreographer

Kris Dane

Jessica Fanhan

Lieselot Siddiki

Leentje Vandenbussche

Rashif El Kaoui

Sachli Gholamalizad

Junior Akwety


Pitcho Womba Konga

Yassin Mrabtifi

Anne-Laure Vandeputte

Marie-Aurore D’Awans

Les Mybalés

Brandon Likiyo – aka MystiquX

Leonie Buysse

Gioia Kayaga – aka Joy